What to do (and not do) when your husband has to be away….

20120418-111059.jpg

This month has been a rough one for me. Luke has had to go on three trips out of town, and went to our street ministry school all in a row. Which leaves me feeling rather lonely. Well, I have my beautiful kids of course, but there is nothing like having your husband around…

Some of you may also be in the same situation, or a similar situation, what do you do to stay sane? Or do you mostly just go insane like me? Here’s a listing of what I’ve done in the past month…

1. cried

2. had no energy for things

3. whined and complained

4. whined and complained to my husband and then felt really bad about that because he’s doing his job and actually, so am I

5. come up with GREAT and AWESOME things to do with my kids

6. become totally frustrated with my kids and turned a movie on

7. wished for a car, money, more friends, things to do, and the United States of America

8. asked God for forgiveness for being so miserable when I am surrounded by so many blessings

9. realized how much I LOVE my husband’s company

10. asked my mom to come over

11. made awesome things to eat and listened to my kids complain about it

12. prayed

13. mistakenly joined Pinterest

and then finally I got myself together, and read this: “My grace is all you need. My power works best in weakness. So now I am glad to boast about my weaknesses, so that the power of Christ can work through me” 2 Corinthians 12:9 It’s ok to tell others you are struggling. This is something that is sometimes hard for me, outside of telling Luke. God sees me here, in all of my weakness, yet he still loves me. He’s cheering me on, holding me up, blessing me all the way.

5 responses to “What to do (and not do) when your husband has to be away….

  1. Oh Honey! I just love to read your posts! You are going through all the normal feelings and experiences that every wife and mother of young children goes through but you are far away from most of your support system and everything familiar to you! Thanks for being so tranparent, showing us your heart. I love the verse God led you to. Praying today is better for you. I know Jody Jr. can’t wait to see you all this summer…WE can’t wait to see you this summer. Lots of love, Laura

  2. Dad and I love your posts! You write so well and express things in a serious (yet humorous) way. And, we can see Jesus in you!!

  3. I copied that scripture and sent it to my work email – I’d like to remember that as it reminded me of the many women we serve at Bridge of Hope. Love you!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

Leave a Reply

