six and a half months

Somehow, we have already been in Brazil for over six months. It has been the longest six months of my life, and the shortest. I have learned a lot about myself and about our family. I have learned a lot about Brazil, mostly I have learned that I want to learn MORE about Brazil, the culture, and ESPECIALLY the language.

My kids have gotten REALLY BIG.

Leyton basically came here as a baby, and now walks around calling himself a man. (Actually he just told me he is an adult.) I have to remind myself everyday about how quickly they are growing up. I don’t want to allow the overwhelming-ness of a new culture become bigger than me seeing my children grow up. I want to treasure every moment of their cuteness. They are saying the most ridiculous cute things and I get upset at myself for not writing everything down, even though I guess that’s a little too much for anyone to do.

I miss our home and our life in America everyday. But I wouldn’t trade this experience for anything. My eyes have been opened to so much, and I know that I have grown because of it. I rely on God for every single thing in my whole life. You have to when you live in a place that at times can be extremely uncomfortable, strange, and confusing.

I am motivated to learn this language. It is not easy, but I know I have to. I would love to be able to talk to the people we meet on the streets, or even another mother on the playground! It gets a little lonely not to be able to.

We have lived in two different homes since we have lived here.

We have learned that it is very important for a family to live in their own home, especially with children. We need our own space for our own little routine, our own play time, our own mess, and our own quiet time.

We have also learned that this small town of Trindade is not for us! Although we have met some wonderful people here, we are ready to move to where God is calling us, to Recife. Every time our team has gone there we have received unbelievable blessings and favor, and we are excited to see what else God has in store for us there. And we are ready to get Project Bethany started!

But first, we are counting down the days until our visit home this summer. I know our families are too! Our goal this summer will be to raise a lot of support in order for us to fund our move to Recife, as well as get a car for our family. We need prayers for our Visas, which will need to be renewed before we come back.

Thank you all at home for your prayers and for your support. We miss you all terribly.

Love, Alisan

 

2 responses to “six and a half months

  1. My heart feels for you…the richness of this experience as well as the ache of homesickness and change. One thing is for sure: you will continue to strengthen your faith and your relationshipes with your family. A win-win, in the end. 🙂 We can’t wait to see you and give all of you warm hugs again. July will be here before you know it!
    We love you guys!
    Liz

  2. Your posts are always great, Alisan! I am so proud of you for many reasons but most of all for your openness about your heart feelings and about your faith!
    Love you-
    the m-i-l

Leave a Reply

